A Lone Female Celebrity

They say I conquer men’s hearts
with my charm and glamor.
Ah! Does this conquest yield
the smallest of piece
where exclusively I dwell?

Men make me feel I’m a goddess
who receives offerings
befitting their status:
red roses, costly perfumes,
flashy cars, magnificent bungalows;
coming as nauseating cookies
the compliments
that I have had enough!

I manage to ask some: do you love me?
They say: You’re the nymph of heaven!
I repeat: Do you love me?
They say: you have beautiful eyes—
who won’t love them?
And I dare not ask again.

To those who’re curious I tell:
I don’t own what I have conquered!
Those hearts are conquered each day
by a number of damsels!

A Lone Female Celebrity

One thought on “A Lone Female Celebrity

Leave a Reply

