Because I Cannot Be Young Forever

 The charm makes my whims tolerable,
imparts liberty to make men restless,
smoothens intricacies in getting things done,
offers delight in being watched
with pretension of ignorance!

Robes stylish in malls please,
generating visualization of my persona
adorned with the grandeur of a princess
(and exactly this is when I feel his absence!).

And when a day goes bad,
self- gazing comes to rescue;
the beautified face prompts embellishment,
and my hands reach out for perfect ear rings
and shimmering powder,
as I unconsciously decide to go out to show off!

Ah! How long can I reap from youth and beauty?
The barren, fragmented land yields no harvest;
the world’s bitterness can’t be put off for long!

Because I Cannot Be Young Forever

Leave a Reply

