I Won’t Chase You Ever

If you’re bewitched by an image of a lady

such that the strong and stubborn hope
moves you with its elastic string-

Dropped off from a height with crashed dreams as if
you stand up and resume the desperate search-

And if I don’t measure up to it in the slightest,
I won’t chase you ever!
And shall appear a sturdy statue

Unless you change your course
and come to me with love-
a juicy pomegranate;

Unless you appear shaken
with the storm of my affection
seeking in me refuge.

If you don’t,
I’m no less stubborn!

I Won’t Chase You Ever

Leave a Reply

