To Ladies who Desert their Babies

I was the accumulating pain of your life-
the ugly succession to colorful nights-

Becoming heavier with each month passing,
Like piling up in bowels
Odorous feces

Or placed by a hand careless
A trinket sitting in a pot precious
……………………………………………………………….

When I came out I expected to see:
Your shiny eyes
Curious to have me reside in them
Like a lovely picture painted on a wall ineffaceably;

Festoons & balloons –fun, laughter, smile, delight
As if blissful emotions had been carried over
From the world into our house
With the mighty pipe springing from
The heart joyful;

Restless arms extending out to hold me
Like chicks looking up eagerly
To be fed,
Lips vibrating with love as if in delight
Flutters a butterfly:

Ah! A lot of expectations in tiny eyes?

What I did see was the balloon of gloom bursting-
Sorrow settling everywhere
As if someone had demised!

Mom, your womb was not my choice
I wish- of that- God had you deprived!

To Ladies who Desert their Babies

3 thoughts on “To Ladies who Desert their Babies

  1. Gulshan Anand says:

    Nice poem here is one: something in the context of that poem: I’m sure you could guess ?

    She said: “She is leaving like a moment in disguise flash right in front of my eyes,”

    If I could pause you for a second I could cherish you a little bit more
    But as I grow I lose respect for you just a little bit more’
    Because all you do is give and take it away & left me with no choice but to be grateful we met;
    You can call it faith that’s making you stay but tomorrow isn’t promised today
    Tomorrow isn’t promised today;; But if you stay I’ll turn all my promises to reality today.

    But she said she is leaving/ like a moment in disguise flash right in front of my eyes
    If I could pause it I could cherish you just a little bit more
    But as I grow I loose respect for you just a little bit more
    because all you do is give and take it away
    And left me with no choice but to be grateful we met.
    You can call it faith that’s making you stay.
    But tomorrow isn’t promised today.

    She left me with a million questions & one lifeline & never did a thing for me
    But the whole time had me thinking she was riding feeding my desires
    Got me further from the truth that she is hiding….reality’s disguised but I can’t even compare you to that though
    because you use time as a weapon for those so close
    you more alive in the mind of adolescents
    But that is a lie as well because you feeding their desires to feed her Own’.’

Leave a Reply

